Anna Goes Ukraine

Go nuts – go for it – go Ukraine! Supporting resistance to the Russian invasion.

Click here to support rural women and their communities.


On my way home

I’ve just settled into my bunk on the sleeper train from Kyiv to Uzhgorod (there’s a set choreography to four strangers organising themselves to sleep in a space that’s about five foot wide, six foot long and eight foot high, and I’ve got good at it now), so I’m on my way home. Today was a quiet day with Maria and Denys and just four excited teenagers (!) and then dinner with my Kyiv friend Yulia, My First Ukrainian, through whom I met Sashko and Maria, before the train.

My brain is of course EXPLODING. And I’ve got a brief stop in Uzhgorod to have lunch with Kseniya (from waaay back at the start of this journal) before I leave the country. But I’ve got this 14-hour train journey, then the bus and hotel and flight to sort my brain out. Or rather start doing so – I imagine I’ll get about 5% of the way through the process.

I am definitely not done with posting, however. Two of the most interesting interviews are to come. In Kyiv I had a long talk with a female dobrovoltsa – a volunteer soldier, as women still find it hard to be hired by the professional army (more on that in the post). And back in Zaporizhzhia Masha and Denys made a new friend, a very cool and brave young non-binary person who’s made their way from the occupied territories to Zaporizhzhia and is waiting for their new identity papers so they can start a life in Ukraine with their girlfriend. They asked me to send them some questions via Telegram, and they just replied with their fascinating story.

For now, though, I hope I can get a reasonable night’s sleep.



Leave a comment

About Me

I am a writer and editor living in London UK. You can find my YA novel, about a girl with bipolar disorder and an attitude, in bookshops or on Amazon. My website is here.

I am also a pro-Ukrainian activist, currently volunteering in Zaporizhzhia.

In spring 2023 I travelled in East and South Ukraine with my friends from the Freefilmers NGO, interviewing local people – especially women in rural communities – about their experiences and survival strategies.

You can donate here to support the people I meet.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started